The Academy of Social Sciences is the national academy of academics, learned societies and practitioners in the social sciences. Its mission is to promote social science in the United Kingdom for the public benefit.

The Academy is composed of around 1100 individual Fellows, 42 Learned Societies, and a number of affiliates, together representing nearly 90,000 social scientists. Fellows are distinguished scholars and practitioners from academia and the public and private sectors. Most Learned Societies in the social sciences in the UK, including the Housing Studies Association, are represented within the Academy.

Twice a year usually around June and December, the Housing Studies Association is permitted to nominate up to 5 people to become Fellows of the Academy of Social Science (Max 10 per annum). This accolade reflects that individuals have made a substantial contribution to the social sciences – to policy or practice – going beyond the normal requirements of their position.

Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences that have already been nominated by the Housing Studies Association are listed below:

  • Prof. Jo Richardson
  • Dr Lígia Teixeira
  • Prof. Rebecca Tunstall
  • Prof. Glen Bramley
  • Prof. David Clapham
  • Prof. David Robinson
  • Prof. John Flint
  • Prof. Suzanne Fitzpatrick
  • Prof. Kenneth Gibb
  • Emeritus Prof. Malcolm Harrison
  • Keith Kirby
  • Prof. Duncan Maclennan
  • Prof. Chris Paris
  • Prof. Susan Smith
  • Prof. Mark Stephens
  • Prof. Christine M E Whitehead
  • Julia Unwin CBE FAcSS

The criteria and guidelines can be found on the Academy's website. The selection process is highly competitive and involves a rigorous nomination process. To nominate someone for the next round please complete sections 1, 3, and 4 of the 'Form for nomination of Fellow by Accredited Learned Society' and return it to Dr Helen Taylor [email protected] by email no later than 4pm on 21st May 2021

To complete the nomination procedure a CV of the individual must be included, along with the Diversity Monitoring Form. The proposer and the nominee cannot be based at the same institution and both should be established current members of the Housing Studies Association (min 5 years membership). Applications will be considered by the Executive Committee of the HSA and nominees will be notified if their application is to be taken forward.

If accepted as a Fellow, individuals will be responsible for payment of the AcSS fellow registration fee, which currently ranges from £97.50 to £225 depending on status and payment method.

The Housing Studies Association (HSA) is a limited company registered in England and Wales under company number 13958843 at 42 Wellington Road, Greenfield, OL3 7AQ.
Log in | Powered by White Fuse